Tuesday, May 21, 2019


On Friday voters from across Roscommon will go to the polls to elect 18 people to Roscommon County Council.

At least three new members of the authority will be elected following the retirements of outgoing councillors Michael Creaton, Rachel Doherty, and Paddy Kilduff.

Thirty-three candidates will contest the elections, a drop in the number of candidates contesting the last elections in 2014.

In all, 11 candidates will contest six seats in each of the three municipal districts.

The people will also vote in the European Parliament elections for the Midlands-North-West constituency.

In a separate referendum, voters are also being asked to vote on whether to reduce the amount of time during which divorce proceedings can be issued and whether non-Irish divorces can be recognised in Irish law.

This time out, a total of 772 people have added their names to the electoral register.

Polling stations open at 7 a.m. on Friday and will remain open until 10 p.m.

Counting of votes will begin in the Dr. Hyde Centre, Roscommon, from 9 a.m. on Saturday with indicative tally indications expected early that afternoon.

Comments are closed.

More Roscommon News

Stun-gun, phones found in Castlerea Prison

A golden moment for Aoife