Friday, November 13, 2020


Shane Walsh will start at full-forward against Mayo on Sunday. Picture: INPHO/James Crombie





Shane Walsh has been named at full-forward in the Galway team to face Mayo for Sunday’s Connacht senior football final at Pearse Stadium, Salthill.

Walsh, who recovered from injury to be introduced against Dublin in the Tribesmen’s final league game a few weeks ago, will be the focal point of the home side’s attack in the absence of Damien Comer.

There are three players from county champions Moycullen included  — Seán Kelly, Paul Kelly and Dessie Conneely — while Tom Flynn partners Cein D’Arcy at midfield. Michael Daly from Mountbellew/Moylough lines out at wing-forward.

Galway have reached the provincial final without kicking a ball in anger, having received a walkover from Sligo last weekend.

When the sides met in the league on October 18th, Mayo prevailed by 3-23 to 0-17, but matters are sure to be much tighter on Sunday.

Mayo named their team earlier today, with Mark Moran the only change from the side that defeated Roscommon at Dr. Hyde Park.


GALWAY v Mayo: Bernard Power, Seán Kelly, Seán Mulkerrin, Johnny Heaney, Liam Silke, Johnny Duane, Cillian McDaid; Cein D’Arcy, Tom Flynn; Paul Kelly, Paul Conroy, Michael Daly; Ian Burke, Shane Walsh, Dessie Conneely.

Comments are closed.

More Roscommon Sport